GAA Miler Meet 1500m/5000m Results

Category: Athletics

Friday 28th July, we returned to Scotstoun Stadium for our final GAA Miler Meet of the season; this time racing over events of 1500m and 5000m (incorporating the scottishathletics U20 & Senior East / West District and National Masters 5000m Championships). The increase in spectators and athletes raised the atmosphere of the evening, resulting in great races.

 With a record number of entries (over 300!), the PB rate of 53% of finishers was a great reflection of the 10 1500m and 5 5000m races on show for the night. Our £400 Prize Pot was split 3 - ways between 1500m Men's winner James Bowness of Trafford AC with his time of 3:48.13, Women's 1500m winner Mhairi Hendry of Victoria Park City of Glasgow in her PB run of 4:16.37, and Lachlan Oates of Shettleston Harriers with his run of 14:23.43 for his run in the 5000m. Jenny Nisbett of Worcester AC was the fastest female on the night over 5000m with her run of 16:31.02. Pace-maker Luke Traynor from Giffnock North AAC continued to finish the 5000m after his pacing duties and finished with a new personal best of 14:00.63, before pacing another two 1500m races.

The list of District and Master's Championship medalists won is below:

West Senior Men:
1. Lachlan Oates (Shettleston Harriers) 14:23.43
2. John Bell (Inverclyde AC) 15:30.16
3. Robert Gilroy (Cambuslang Harriers) 15:32.95
West U20 Men:
1. Gavin Smith (Cambuslang Harriers) 15:44.45
2. Martin Lynas (East Kilbride AC) 16:20.02
East Senior Men:
1. Cameron Milne (Central AC) 14:27.25
2. Alastair Hay (Central AC) 14:31.95
3. Calum McKenzie (Corstorphine AAC) 14:44.08
East U20 Men:
1. Sol Sweeney (Perth Strathtay) 14:44.68
2. James Donald (Dundee Hawkhill Harriers) 14:45.25
3. Tristan Rees (Fife AC) 15:12.09
West Senior Women:
1. Stacie Taylor (Kilmarnock Harriers 16:%1.93
2. Michelle Sandison (Springburn Harriers) 17:29.73
3. Sarah Potter (VP Glasgow) 17:32.43
East Senior Women:
1. Annabel Simpson (Fife AC) 16:42.47
2. Nicola Gauld (Aberdeen AC) 17:16.32
3. Kirsty Macruary (Corstorphine AAC) 17:34.47
Masters Men:
V35 Jozsef Farkas (Stirlign University) 15:24.15; V40 Robert Gilroy (Cambuslang Harriers) 15:32.95; V45 Kerry-Liam Wilson (Cambusland Harriers) 15:38.64; V50 Scott McDonald (Moorfoot) 17:10; V55 John Hynd (Carnegie) 19:18.64; V60 Alexander Chisholm (Garscube Harriers) 18:53.98; V65 Ray Aitken (Keith) 21:48.78; V70 Bobby Young (Clydesdale Harriers) 21:33.59
Masters Women:
V35 Nicola Gauld (Aberdeen AC) 17:!6.32; V40 Yana Thandraya (Portobello) 20:10.84; V50 Sue Ridley (Edinburgh AC) 20:14.95; V55 Fiona Matheson (Falkirk Harriers) 18:05.26
Mhairi Hendry
Miler Meet